Sugar-free challenge (almost): the final week

Glass jar of candy

Photo by Clem Onojeghuo, via Unsplash

I didn’t make it.

Before you go judging me, let me say this: in my mind, I did not fail. I made it through three weeks with a solid effort and very few slips. From Friday of last week to Friday this week, I let go. It started last weekend when I was essentially working in a basement for two days where the only food available was overpriced junk. There were no fridges. I had all the excuses I needed to not bring my own food. I was so tired by the end of each day, I bought junk for my dinners too because I was not interested in cooking or in paying top dollar for a salad. Things just sort of snowballed from there.

I will acknowledge how crappy my body feels after eating junk. Sure, my body always feels crappy after eating junk, but I never paid attention to that before. Super sugary foods aren’t as appealing as they were before the challenge. I had a couple of chocolate almonds and tried drinking Pepsi and I couldn’t finish either of them. That’s progress!

I will always enjoy sugar, but it doesn’t have to be a lot and it doesn’t have to be all the time. I found some great sugar-free products I’ll continue using and I’ll always be on the lookout for healthy options when it comes to sauces, bread, yogurt, etc.

Progress is progress, right?

A

