Sugar-free challenge: week #3 recap

Black quare bowl of donuts surrounded by candies and chocolate on white table

Photo by Dennis Klein, via Unsplash

This week has been sheer madness. I haven’t been eating perfectly but I really don’t care because I have a job that’s great. It’s super busy at the moment because we’re launching a new campaign this weekend so it’s a bit tougher to make time to eat right and just make better food choices. I am celebrating the small victories though.

What was the toughest part of the week? I worked late on Wednesday evening and by the time I was ready to eat dinner, I really didn’t care about what I was eating. I had a Swiss Chalet Quarter-Chicken Dinner with fries and roll on the side and I didn’t feel badly about it. Not mentally. I will say my body didn’t take too kindly to that meal though. I was so proud of myself for not eating any of the junk food at my work event, and there was A LOT. So, I’ll take one big win and one little loss.

Any slips? See above re: Swiss Chalet. I also had a couple of glasses of white wine that may or may not have had added sugar.

Did you try any new foods/recipes? Nope. No time.

Any cravings? Some, but they are starting to fade with my higher fat and protein consumption.

Weight lost or gained: None. Oh well, at least I didn’t gain any!

Overall feelings after the third week: Working and eating right is tough. It’s always been tough for me. I’m the first to admit that I’ve had it pretty easy with work hours for most of my career so far. I’m usually home by 6:30 p.m. unless there’s an event or a crisis happening. I just get lazy when it comes to grocery shopping and packing the right foods. Once my life normalizes a bit I’m hoping to get into the habit of meal prep on Sundays so my breakfasts and lunches are healthy and require minimal prep throughout the week. Those meals are the worst for temptations.

One more week of this craziness! This weekend will be tough because I’m working offsite and will have to buy my lunches, so send my all the strength to stay away from sugary things!

A

