Sugar-free challenge: week #1 recap

Doughnuts in basket on market shelf

Photo by Leon Ephraim, via Unsplash

One week came and went and so far, I’m doing pretty well. I want to clarify something about this challenge. Natural sugars are acceptable in moderate doses (fruit, pure honey, some dry wines). It’s all about avoiding the unnecessary sugars and sweeteners, the extras that we find in a lot of our daily foods. I’m being as strict as I can with the rules, so I get the most out of the challenge.

What was the toughest part of the week? It was so damn hot on Monday and when I got to my aunt and uncle’s for dinner all I wanted an ice-cold beer. I had to settle for sparkling water, which was underwhelming to say the least.

Any slips? On the second day of the challenge I ate a few TicTacs without thinking. Of course, when I remembered to check, I saw the first ingredient listed is sugar, so I hid the rest of the box in a drawer in my desk. I had some tomato sauce that had some sugar in it. I did this knowingly, but I didn’t want the sauce to go bad and go to waste. Finally, I just checked the ingredients in Tostitos Salsa Con Queso and realized it contains corn maltodextrin. I definitely ate a couple of jars of this stuff with the corn chips I was so happy about. Shit.

***UPDATE: Okay. I found out I didn’t get a job I wanted today, so I had 1/4 bottle of Chardonnay and a medium iced coffee. To be fair, I didn’t know the iced coffee had sweetener in it until I had a sip, but whatever. I realize how much my emotions affect my food choices and I’m gonna have to get a grip. Life goes on, but wine helps.

Did you try any new foods/recipes? I tried a recipe I found for sugar-free pancakes. It was awful. I’m not sure if it was because I substituted chia for eggs (I’m allergic to eggs so I try not to use them if I don’t have to) or if it was because I used ground almonds instead of almond meal. I assumed ground almonds were the same as almond meal, but perhaps I was wrong. According to Google I was. I’m kinda pissed I spent $30 on the wrong ingredient, but live and learn. After the failed pancake fiasco, I tried my sister’s basic recipe, which was simply this:

1 cup flour
1 cup milk
1 egg OR 1 tbsp chia w/ 3 tbsp water

SUCCESS! These dense pancakes are great with a bit of honey and some fruit.

I also tried gluten-free noodles from Barilla and Hunt’s tomato sauce (obviously with no added sugar). Both were not bad. I would eat them again.

Any cravings? I want a doughnut so bad. I woke up on the morning I started my challenge craving a doughnut and it hasn’t gone away. I’m not looking forward to when I start PMSing and can’t reach for the good stuff.

What do you miss the most? I really miss bready/cakey things and juice. I don’t miss chocolate or candy as much as I thought I would.

Weight lost or gained: I lost four pounds in one week! It was likely water weight, but I’ll take it.

Overall feelings after the first week: This is really friggin’ hard. I want Chinese food, soda, and most of all, DOUGHNUTS. It’s been tough for me to find foods to eat that I can actually stomach. Between my lactose intolerance and my egg allergy, my options are few.  I feel hungry often, so I need to work at eating more filling foods, more protein. I haven’t noticed any changes in my skin yet, but maybe that takes a little while. The first week was tough. I know I can do this, but WOW I can’t wait until October.

Send me some positive vibes for week two!

A

