Well colour me happy, I feel like a kid again!

Remember when you would sit down at a little table, in your little chair, with a box of crayons, some markers, maybe a few pencil crayons and just colour?

This once forgotten pastime of mine is reborn with the “adult” colouring book craze.

My life is busy and filled with a billion things a day that take over my ever-shrinking attention span. Lately I’ve been trying to find activities I can enjoy without the TV on or anything else to distract me after a long day of mind-numbing work. I’m trying to get my imagination back and unwind from the daily grind.

Kid with crazy face holding a pencil and caption I FUCKING LOVE COLOURING

Photo from quickmeme.com

It is a total struggle to turn the TV off, mainly due to the nasty Netflix habit I’ve acquired. It’s like I can’t survive without a screen on in front of me… even if I’m not actively watching it.

Colouring is a great way to take time for myself to be creative and free, maybe enjoy some music I haven’t heard in a while and just stop thinking. The finished products also make great prints for hanging on the wall, or in a boring grey cubicle.

I received Johanna Basford’s Lost Ocean colouring book as a Christmas gift and I CANNOT wait to crack it open. I have an unexplained obsession with the ocean, so this is hands down the most prized book of the three I have right now. You should also check out Johanna’s Instagram feed, as it often features beautifully coloured pages from her books as well as fun tips. She’s such a talented illustrator, it’s impossible not to love her work.

My current colouring book collection includes:

Lost Ocean: An Inky Adventure And Coloring Book

Animal Kingdom: Color Me, Draw Me

Mandala Magic: Amazing Mandalas Coloring Book for Adults

I’m currently using Crayola pencil crayons to colour with but I would love to get my hands on some Staedtler colouring pens. Sadly, they’re not in my budget right now. In the meantime I just want to enjoy the simple pleasures colouring brings me.

Off to get my colour on!

A

