Resolutions? What resolutions?

Silhouette of person staring up at the stars

Photo by Greg Rakozy via Unsplash

I could make a long list of the same goals I intend to accomplish every year, but what would be the point?

Every time January rolls around I see everyone listing the same tired goals and I can’t help but feel like I should do the same. I have this unconquerable need to prove to everyone I can make resolutions too. I can also not follow through on those same resolutions.

Sounds productive, right?

I’m going to take a different approach the new year: I’m resolving to just be better. I don’t need to list off all the things I want to accomplish for everyone to see because my goals are just that, they’re mine. I don’t need to prove myself to anyone and I don’t need anyone, including myself , to hold it over my head when I inevitably don’t accomplish everything on my long list of life improvements.

I will be better this year. They say when listing goals, you should start small. I will get up every day and put in the effort to make small changes that will better my life.

I’m doing this for me.

Cheers to 2016 and whatever it throws my way. I’m ready.

A

 

 

