Fearless.

Nearly a decade ago, my father passed away from a form of skin cancer called Squamous Cell Carcinoma. He was 51.

Andie's dad Robin in a canoe on the lake with the family dog, Sackett

Nothing prepared my family for this unspeakable grief and the scars it would leave behind. I think about my dad a lot and I often think about how much better the world would be if we could find a cure for cancer. I know I am not alone in this thought. In fact, I am so far from being alone in it, that it makes me sad and angry all at the same time. This disease is a real bitch and it must be demolished.

I understand there are many causes in this world to fight for. Too many. I cannot worry about all of them because I would inevitably go insane. Instead I choose to focus my do-gooding on a handful of causes that mean the most to me. Cancer tops the list, as I have the most personal ties to the disease, with my father and one of my grandmothers succumbing to it and two aunts who were lucky enough to escape it.

_________________________________________

The Canadian Cancer Society  is currently running a campaign called the Fearless Challenge; encouraging people to choose a fear they must face (no fear too small) once they raise a certain amount of funds. All the proceeds go to the Canadian Cancer society services and research.

Back in September I decided to take the challenge!

The challenge: to lay on the glass floor of the CN Tower for 1 minute… face down, eyes open.
The fundraising goal: to raise $1000 by November 1, 2015.

On November 21, 2015 I completed my Fearless Challenge!

Kneeling on the glass floor of the CN Tower

I did get a few comments from others about my challenge not being “big” enough. Here’s the thing: if you truly know me, you know this challenge was HUGE for me. I’ve been petrified of heights for a very long time and what makes my challenge even more special is my father was also afraid of heights.

I highly recommend the Fearless Challenge to anyone who, like me, cannot participate in the large group events (Relay for Life, Run for the cure, Ride to Conquer Cancer, etc.) due to physical limitations.

Looking down through the glass floor of the CN Tower

Looking down through the glass floor of the CN Tower

I am blown away by the support I received while taking on this challenge and truly feel like I accomplished something wonderful.

If you want to donate to my Fearless Challenge, it’s not too late! Click here.

If you want to donate to my father’s tribute page, click here.

Stay tuned for the video!

Your turn!

A

